Ehime Discover Avatar photo GJ Editor

G'Day Japan! / Discover / SHIKOKU

Shikoku is an island of Japan, located to the southwest of Tokyo. Its name means four countries, and as the name suggests, it is made up of four prefectures; Tokushima, Kagawa, Kochi and Ehime.

Shikoku came in the second one of the top Asian destination in Lonely Planet’s Best in the Asia Pacific category, and rightfully so.

Over in Matsuyama, the capital city of Ehime, you’ll not only find eight of the pilgrimage temples but there is also the restored feudal castle, the restored Matsuyama castle, as well as one of Japan’s most ancient hot springs, the Dogo Onsen. You will be able to enjoy cycling with a flavour of mountain and sea.

Tokushima prefecture, known for Awa Odori festival, provides the dyed textile workshop during which you can see how authentic Japan blue is made.

Kashiwajima, placed in Kochi prefecture, is one of the famous clean-water spots in the world. It is adjacent to the sea area in which the Kuroshio current bumps against the Bungo channel.

Who would know that Kagawa prefecture has so beautiful beach that reflects the sunset as if the mirror does?